Scouts Australia

Recognition of Service To Scouting

The service of adult and youth members to scouting can be recognised in a number of ways. 

Adult Recognition Awards (ARA)

On an annual basis adults in scouting are invited to nominate leaders, adult helpers and/or supporters for ARA, according to awards qualifications as the following table.  Anyone can submit nominations for ARA.  


Adult Recognition Award
Special Service Award &

Meritorious Service Award
Nomination Form

Adult Recognition Award
All other Awards

Nomination Form

Rover Service Award
Nomination Form

Example RSA Nomination and FAQ's

2024 ARA nominations are to be submitted by Friday 1st March 2024 using the Operoo forms linked above.

Guidance for ARA Nomination including qualifying requirements

**** check qualifying requirements for prior to nominating ****

Years of Service

Years of service badges are automatically awarded every 5 years on the anniversary of the appointment as a training leader.  Years of Service milestones are confirmed by the Appointments Committee on behalf of the Chief Commissioner.  Certificates and badges are issued to the Group Leader / Unit Manager for presentation at an appropriate section/group event.

Chief Commissioners Award

The Chief Commissioners Award can be awarded at any time for any purpose.  Group Leaders and Unit Leaders can nominate leaders, adult helpers and/or supporters and youth members for outstanding service to ACT Scouting.  Chief Commissioners Awards are presented directly by the Chief Commissioner.

Chief Commissioners Award Nomination Form.  

Group Commendation

For Scout Groups and Rover Unit, the Group Council, Group Committee, Unit Executive can nominate adult and youth members for a Group Commendation.  Group Commendations are awarded to recognise specific service, positive behaviour or a significant contribution to the life and success of scouting at Scout Group / Rover Unit.

A sample Group Commendation template is provided as a starting point for Group Commendations.